About APA: Latest News

Artists Announced for Contact East 2018

June 20, 2018 | The Atlantic Presenters Association (APA) has announced the complete lineup of artists who will take part in its flagship annual event, Contact East, happening September 20-23, 2018 in St. John’s, NL. The event’s 43rd edition will present a diverse range of international performers – from music to dance and theatrical productions and beyond. Additionally, a limited number of tickets for these performances will be available to the general public.

“Every year, we present a wide and diverse range of live acts to help our presenters bring engaging, world-class entertainment to their communities throughout the Atlantic Provinces,” says Angela Campbell, Executive Director of the Imperial Theatre in Saint John and current President of the APA. “It’s always a challenge trying to top ourselves from year to year, though looking at this eclectic list of performers, I think we’ve done it for 2018. We look forward to helping these artists build their profiles in Atlantic Canada while providing top-tier live programming for venues large and small throughout the region.”

The artists, from Atlantic Canada with others coming from across the country and around the world, are selected through an extensive adjudication process, resulting in a lineup of engaging and entertaining performances that will appeal to audiences of all kinds.

Of those chosen, 24 will perform for Contact East delegates over the course of the event while an additional 10 will be onsite to pitch directly to presenters in a more intimate setting.

The performing artists are: Artistic Fraud of Newfoundland – ‘Between Breaths’; Bev & Marc Duo; Blue Moon Marquee; Compania Carmen Romero; Christine Tassen et les Imposteures; Dione Taylor; Fretboard Journey; GoldenOak; Janet Cull; Jeremy Dutcher; The Kubasonics; L’Aubergine – ‘TerZetto’; Les Tireaux d’Roches; Lucas Bohn; Ndidi Onukwulu; Nive & the Deer Children; Pretty Archie; Quantum Tangle; Rachel Beck ft. The Atlantic String Machine; Saltarello; Terence Jack; Van Larkins; and the Wonderheads – ‘Grimm & Fischer’.

The pitching artists are: Alex Zerbe; Axis Theatre Co – ‘Robinson Crusoe & Friday’; Christopher Hall and the Comic Quartet; Paul; Power – ‘Crippled’; Ian Foster; Jeremy Fischer; Diana Daly, Louise Moyes, Anne Troake: If a Place Could be Made; Norman Foote and Preetam Sengupta.

Contact East 2018 also includes a number of professional development sessions for APA members and visiting arts professionals, plus one-to-one business meetings, and networking events that will highlight some of Newfoundland’s special sights, places, and people.

Delegate registration is now open for Contact East. The deadline to register to be included in the handbook is Friday, August 17, 2018. Visit www.contacteast.ca for full details on how to register.

Contact East generates hundreds of thousands of dollars in direct economic activity, with artists often booked onsite to perform in theatres and at festivals throughout Atlantic Canada and around the world.

APA recognizes and is grateful for the support of the following funding partners for Contact East 2018 - Canadian Heritage, Canada Council for the Arts, Province of NL, Province of NS, Province of NB, FACTOR and SOCAN.

For more about Contact East 2018 and its previous editions, visit www.contacteast.ca.

Full list of Showcasing & Pitch Artists

Alex Zerbe - http://www.alexzerbe.com/

Artistic Fraud of Newfoundland – ‘Robinson Crusoe & Friday’ http://artisticfraud.com/

Axis Theatre Company http://www.axistheatre.com/

Bev & Marc Duo - http://www.marcdjokic.com/bev-marc-duo/

Blue Moon Marquee - https://www.bluemoonmarquee.com/

Compania Carmen Romero - https://www.carmenromero.ca/

Christine Tassan et les Imposteures - http://www.christinetassanetlesimposteures.com/en/

Christopher Hall and the Comic Quartet - http://comicorchestra.com/en/

L’Aubergine – ‘TerZetto’ - http://www.laubergine.qc.ca/en/shows/terzettto/

Diana Daly, Louise Moyes, Anne Troake: If a Place Could be Made - http://docudance.com/

Dione Taylor - http://www.dionetaylor.com/

Fretboard Journey - http://duaneandrews.ca/fjsd/

GoldenOak - http://www.goldenoakband.com/

Ian Foster - https://ianfoster.ca/

Janet Cull - https://www.janetcull.com/

Jeremy Dutcher - https://jeremydutcher.com/

Jeremy Fisher - https://jeremyfisherjunior.com/

The Kubasonics - https://www.kubasonics.com/

Les Tireux d'Roches - http://tireuxderoches.com/

Lucas Bohn - http://www.lucasbohn.com/

Ndidi Onukwulu - http://ndidio.ca/

Nive & the Deer Children - http://niveandthedeerchildren.com/

Norman Foote - http://www.normanfoote.com/info.html

Paul Power - ‘Crippled’ - http://www.paulpower.ca/crippled.html

Preetam Sengupta - https://www.preetam.ca/

Pretty Archie - https://www.prettyarchie.com/

Quantum Tangle - http://www.quantumtangle.com/index.html

Rachel Beck ft. The Atlantic String Machine - https://www.rachelbeckmusic.com/

Saltarello - http://www.saltarello.ca/en/index.cfm

Terence Jack - http://www.terencejack.com/

Van Larkins - https://www.vanlarkins.com/

Wonderheads – ‘Grimm & Fischer’ http://www.wonderheads.com/

View articles from:  

01.16.19

Register Today! APA's March PD Session "Breakthrough Marketing: Connecting Audiences & Art"

Registration is now open for the next session in APA's Professional Development Series. (more)
01.16.19

Presenting Sponsor Announced for ShiftChange Conference

This year's edition of ShiftChange is shaping up to be a standout. (more)
01.14.19

Register Today! Box Office Summit now open to Non-Members

Due to popular demand, the Box Office Summit is now open to non-members of APA. Spaces are limited to register today. (more)
01.14.19

Submissions NOW OPEN for Contact East 2019

APA is pleased to announce that submissions are NOW OPEN for Contact East 2019 taking place September 26-29 in Charlottetown, PE. (more)
12.21.18

The 2019 Webinar Series Coming Soon!

One webinar will be offered per month from January through April starting Tuesday, January 15, 2019. (more)
11.13.18

Submissions Open for Petapan: First Light Showcase 2019

The Petapan: First Light Symposium will take place in St. John's, Newfoundland & Labrador June 13-16, 2019. (more)
11.01.18

APA New Brunswick Road Trip

In order to get a clear picture of our member's needs & see first hand the amazing work each of them is doing we are hitting the road during 2018-2019. (more)
10.17.18

APA Travel Subsidy Forms now Available for Block Booking Meeting

APA’s annual Block Booking Meeting is an important event that provides opportunities for networking, programming, professional development and information sharing. (more)
10.17.18

Register Today for APA's Annual Block Booking Meeting

​The Atlantica, in Halifax, NS, will be our host for two-days of jam-packed networking and pitching from your colleagues at our annual Block Booking Meeting taking place December 3-4, 2018.​ (more)
09.25.18

Contact East 2018 is a Wrap and Charlottetown, PEI named as host for 2019

Contact East wrapped up last week in St. John’s, NL and saw over 250 arts professionals perform showcases, attend professional development workshops and conduct business over the four-day conference. (more)

December 2018 »